Committee on the Judiciary and Public Safety

Charles_Allen_Name_Plate2.JPGCouncilmember Allen serves as Chair of the Committee on the Judiciary and Public Safety. The Committee is responsible for matters affecting the judiciary and judicial procedure that are within the authority of the Council; matters affecting decedents' estates and fiduciary affairs; matters affecting the Freedom of Information Act; matters affecting criminal law and procedure; human rights; juvenile justice; elections; government ethics; campaign finance; matters arising from or pertaining to the police and fire regulations of the District of Columbia; and other matters related to police protection, correctional institutions (including youth corrections), fire prevention, emergency medical services, homeland security, criminal justice, and public safety. For a full list of the agencies under the Committee's purview, see below.

The Committee also serves as the Council's liaison with federal partners in the justice system, including: the U.S. Attorneys’ Office, D.C. Courts, Public Defender Service, Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency (CSOSA), Pretrial Services Agency, Federal Bureau of Prisons, and the U.S. Parole Commission.


  • Access to Justice Initiative
  • Board of Elections
  • Board of Ethics and Government Accountability
  • Child Fatality Review Committee
  • Child Support Guideline Commission
  • Commission on Human Rights
  • Commission on Judicial Disabilities and Tenure
  • Corrections Information Council
  • Criminal Code Reform Commission
  • Criminal Justice Coordinating Council
  • Department of Corrections
  • Department of Forensic Sciences
  • Deputy Mayor for Public Safety & Justice
  • Developmental Disabilities Fatality Review Committee
  • District of Columbia National Guard
  • District of Columbia Sentencing Commission
  • Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board
  • Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department
  • Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency
  • Homeland Security Commission
  • Judicial Nomination Commission
  • Juvenile Justice Advisory Group
  • Metropolitan Police Department
  • Motor Vehicle Theft Prevention Commission
  • Office of Campaign Finance
  • Office of Human Rights
  • Office of Police Complaints
  • Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia
  • Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
  • Office of Unified Communications
  • Office of Victim Services and Justice Grants
  • Police Complaints Board
  • Police Officer Standards and Training Board
  • Science Advisory Board
  • Uniform Law Commission


  • Councilmember Anita Bonds
  • Councilmember Mary M. Cheh
  • Councilmember Vincent Gray
  • Councilmember David Grosso 


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.